#31 – Trappistes Rochefort 8

#31 - Trappistes Rochefort 8

Size: 330 ml

ABV: 9.2 %

I have already outlined the history of the Trappistes Rochefort Abbey in my coverage of the Rochefort 10 (#13). Perhaps what I didn’t mention was that the success of the Trappistes Rochefort beers of today is mainly due to two of the other Trappist breweries of the modern age.

In 1887 with the monastery closed for nigh on 80 years, monks from the Trappist Abbey of Achel came to Rochefort and bought the ruined buildings. Over the next 10 years the Abbey was restored, and a new brewery founded which began to produce a reasonable range of beers over the next 40 years. The fact that they weren’t world beating beers caused a lull in sales in the late 1940’s after Chimay had signed a distribution agreement which authorised the national sale of their tasty beers, even in the town of Rochefort. The abbot of Rochefort complained bitterly to the fellow monks at Chimay who unable to undo the agreement, did agree to help to manufacture a much better beer for Rochefort, which was launched in 1953 as a stronger and more popular brew. Rochefort is probably now considered the pick of the trappist breweries and it is clearly thanks to Achel and Chimay for making this happen.

The Rochefort 8 – this time with the green cap – is for me the better of the Rochefort beers. I don’t think there is a great deal in it, but the 8 is just that bit more refined than the more complex 10. The beer is still dark, thick, malty and chocolatey, even with distant hits of coffee and Christmas fruit. It really is the perfect late night drink, or alternative to dessert after a heavy meal. It is fairly ironic, that Chimay helped to create this masterpiece and yet it is far superior to any of the Chimay beers I have tried over the years. As near to a 10 rating as I have come yet.

(Post-Script) – For a bit more detail on why the Trappistes beers are called 6, 8 and 10, check out the review of the Trappistes Rochefort 6 (#107).

13 Comments

Filed under 9, Abbey Beer, Belgian Strong Ale, Rochefort, Trappist Beer

13 responses to “#31 – Trappistes Rochefort 8

  1. Pingback: #33 – Ciney Brune « The Belgian Beer Odyssey – 1 to 1000

  2. Rochefort 8 is probably my favorite beer of all time. I could drink this beer everyday for the rest of my life and never get sick of it. Wish I could get my hands on some of these other beers you are sampling. Unfortunately we either don’t get them, or if we do they are out of my price range.

    Cheers!

    • While variety is the spice of life – there is something to be said for sticking with the finer beers. Bear in mind, the quality is bound to wear off as I get nearer my target.
      Have you tried the Rochefort 10. I had an 8 and a 10 on the same night in Dinant, and definitely the 8 wins !

      • Actually I am trying the 10 tonight. I had the 6 on Monday, the 8 last night, and the 10 will be tonight. (check my blog)

        It will be my first time trying the 10.

        I couldn’t in your about me section, but were you born and raised in England? Just curious how much exposure you get to American Craft Beer.

      • You will enjoy it that is for sure. Just dont drink it too cold

  3. Pingback: #45 – Chimay Blue « The Belgian Beer Odyssey – 1 to 1000

  4. Pingback: #46 – St. Bernardus Abt 12 « The Belgian Beer Odyssey – 1 to 1000

  5. Pingback: #66 – Westvleteren 12 « The Belgian Beer Odyssey – 1 to 1000

  6. Pingback: #9 – Grimbergen Dubbel « The Belgian Beer Odyssey – 1 to 1000

  7. Pingback: #13 – Trappistes Rochefort 10 « The Belgian Beer Odyssey – 1 to 1000

  8. Pingback: #107 – Trappistes Rochefort 6 « The Belgian Beer Odyssey – 1 to 1000

  9. Love this one. I recently tried it at a bar in Bruges for the first time. When I made my order I pronounced the beer, “roquefort” and the waiter got the globally understood “got another tourist here” expression. He mocked me thoroughly and with great animation when he got back to the kitchen (all of which I could understand – I speak the flailing French of an adult learner, but am approaching fluency, though I am sure he assumed otherwise based on my poor pronunciation). When he returned I made sure my cleavage was visible and said, “Est-ce que le fromage que j’ai commandé?”
    I got the second for free.

Leave a Reply

