#210 – Triple Moine

#210 - Triple Moine

Size: 330 ml

ABV: 7.3 %

When is a new beer not a new beer? The answer to this question became obvious on my brewery tour of Du Bocq. Following a mystifying non-English speaking jaunt around the premises I was delighted to settle in the brewery tap and select my free beer from the bar. I’d opted for the Deugniet (#64) for no other reason than it had a jaunty picture of a jester on the label and I’d never seen it before. As I recall it was a reasonable beer, and it was with beer in hand that I approached the bar and attempted to engage the bar girl in some inane beer chat. It’s what the English are good at.

“Sho”, she says in a thick Flemish drawl, “thees Deugniet beer you are drinking eest the same as these one here”, pointing at the small bottle of beer behind the bar with the dull brown label that didn’t have a jaunty picture of a jester on the label. “Excuse me?”, I said trying my best not to sound Dutch. “Yesh, they are the shame beers, but for different markets – the Deugniet eest for the Dutch speaking people, and the Triple Moine eest for the French speaking people”. I’ll spare the rest of the conversation from these pages, but it essentially covered the Belgium Conundrum, and one of course which has resonated through the politics of the country for the last year or so. Belgium is divided of course and if it helps to sell beer then why not market the same beer to two different populations?

I’ll tell you why not – because it fucks with my counting! Is the Triple Moine a new beer? It’s not is it? It’s the same beer but it’s just called something different. I decided the matter needed investigating, and once I was back in the UK I started to poke around. I noticed the small farmyard brewery at St Monon did it. Their Ambree for example doubles up as a number of brand beers for local breweries. Lefebvre have done it also – their Floreffe Double (#40) is also a double of the Durboyse Brune; their Floreffe Wit is also their Blanche de Bruxelles. Brasserie de Silly have done it, Millevertus have done it, and Van Steenberge – well they are guilty beyond belief.

I needed to make a judgment call and decided to rest my case on the tasting. I much preferred this one to the Deugniet. It looked the same as you would expect, but this seemed to be more fruity than I noted from the brewery tap. It had a decent afterkick and it lasted well to the end of the beer. I am beginning to learn that on different occasions and under different conditions, beers often can taste very different, even if they are actually the same. For that reason, and because a different label can tell a different story I am counting them. In this case a new beer actually is a new beer, though there isn’t much of a story on this one. Moine means monk, and that’s about as interesting as it gets.

5 Comments

Filed under 7, Abbey Tripel, Du Bocq

5 responses to “#210 – Triple Moine

  1. Jonathan

    Rather non-beery comment here but will the Belgians ever decide if they actually want to stick together in unity or go their own separate ways? The whole country seems like a marriage of convenience gone (lambically) sour.

    From what I’ve seen of it over recent years on trips (always beer related, always the beer…) it’s a lovely country, friendly people, fascinating, if turbulent, history. Yet it comes down to the fact that the Flemish and the Walloons just don’t get along, two peoples riven by two languages and different cultural traditions.

    I’d be sad to see the country split but the poltical situation in the country is beyond farcical.

    BTW great to have you back beer blogging. The last month or so has seen so many fascinating reads. I’m on a self-imposed November long beer break so your posts are keeping me satiated!

  2. Jonathan. Good to hear from you again.
    I couldnt bear to see this great country break up.. the differences add to the fun. Ive no idea what would happen to the beer culture if it did.
    Roll on December.

  3. Jonathan

    🙂 well, maybe the two events will coalesce.

    Have to say I’ve never felt better after a first alcohol free weekend for many months. Might have to have a bit of a detox more often!

Leave a Reply

