#49 – Chimay Doree

#49 - Chimay Doree

Size: on cask

ABV: 4.8 %

There are some beers that you can’t just buy from your local off-licence, or if you are lucky to live in or near Belgium, go pick up from your nearest Drankencentrum. Some you can’t even pick up in a good Belgian bar. No, there are some beers where you actually have to go to the brewery tap. As I was in Belgium, it seemed rude not to venture down to the Abbey of Scourmont, and check out the Chimay Doree. Chimays’ secret fourth and rarest beverage.

The place to get it is the Auberge de Poteaupre, a 3-star bar/hotel/restaurant on a quiet country lane a stones throw from the Abbey and brewery. It was just before midday and I had built up something of a hunger and a thirst. I was driving so the 4.8% Chimay Doree was almost perfect, washed down with a traditional Chimay Cheese sandwich served on a breadboard on the open air patio. It was warm, and the sun was out. Chimay Doree means Golden. I do so love Belgium.

My other half, who seems to have developed a healthy liking of brewery taps despite having the alcoholic tolerance of an eight year old, opted for the Chimay Triple (#165) – never a good idea before breakfast. She spent the rest of the afternoon either talking gibberish or nodding off into an alcoholic stupor, while I continued to bemoan the fact that nobody would sell me a take-away bottle of Chimay Doree. I was beginning to enjoy my 48 empties stacked up by the window and a gap would upset me! I suppose it was a little unreasonable to expect them to sell the vintages on show under the blankets of cobwebs in the window. Oh well, shit happens !

This is the brewery tap beer preserved previously for the monks of Chimay. This would only normally be available at the brewery for the working behabited, and thus just like the Het Kapittel Pater (#2) this is the Pater beer. To be fair, for 4.8% it was pretty splendid, tasting stronger than it actually was. There wasn’t a great head to talk of and it was very cloudy; and seemed more wheat-based than barley. It was dry, fruity and definitely akin to grapefruit – a kind of watered down Dendermonde Tripel (#47). I reckon the monks wouldn’t do too bad drinking this all day.

2 Comments

Filed under 7, Abbey Beer, Belgian Ale, Chimay, Trappist Beer

2 responses to “#49 – Chimay Doree

  1. Wish I could get my hands on this here in the states. Jealous it sounded pretty good!

    So I stumbled upon a bottle of Boskeunand picked it up (I noticed you haven’t reviewed it but you have it under beer of the year)

    Ran me about $6 American which isn’t terrible for good Belgian, but I plan on saving this one for New Years Eve.

  2. You won’t regret the Boskeun, even at that price !
    Its very sweet and very thick, and just delicious. I think its like Abbaye des Rocs Montagnarde which you should be able to get in US as they export, and Silly La Divine, which is damn fine as well.

    I havent posted the review yet as running a bit behind, as didn’t start blogging till I was a while in. Am catching up though..

    Don’t want to make you feel bad, but I picked up the Boskeun for about $1.00. Am driving past the brewery in a few weeks so hope to pick up a few more.

Leave a comment